Clayton Roberts: January 9, 2015
and June 26, 2005


CLAYTON ROBERTS received his Bachelor of Music Degree from Utah State University and Master's Degree from the University of Houston. He began developing his music talent by studying piano at the age of 8 and organ at the age of 15. Prior to undergraduate study, Clayton studied organ with Ethelyn Peterson and piano with Mallie Riecken, both of Las Vegas. While working on his Master's Degree he was under the tutelage of Dr. Robert Bates.

As a young emerging organist, Clayton has been featured in solo recitals throughout the United States and in Europe and has performed with orchestras in venues such as the Mormon Tabernacle on Temple Square and Abravanel Hall in Salt Lake City, Utah.

He has been honored to compete in and earn accolades at various competitions such as the Albert Schweitzer Organ Competition (2nd place) and the Miami International Organ Competition (3rd place).

In addition to his duties at Saint John Vianney Catholic Church in Houston, Texas, where he is Associate Director of Music and Principal Organist, Mr. Roberts continues to develop his other musical interests in harpsichord, choral conducting, and composition. Before joining the staff at Saint John Vianney in May 2011, he was the organist at Zion Lutheran Church and held a similar position at Saint Michael's Catholic Church, both in Houston, Texas.

January 9, 2015

Concerto in D Minor, op. 3/11: Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Trans. by Johann Sebastian. Bach (1685-1750) as BWV 596

I. Allegro - Grave - Fugue
II. Largo
III. Allegro

Prelude and Fugue in G Major, BWV 550: J. S. Bach

Waltz in C-sharp Minor. op. 64 No. 2: Frederic Chopin (1810-1849)

Sonata in F Minor, Op 65, No.1: Felix Mendelssohn (1805-1847)

I. AIlegro moderato e serioso
II. Adagio
II. Andante Recit
IV. Allegro assai vivace

The Lost Chord: Arthur Sullivan (1842-1900)

Sketchbook No. 1: Daniel Gawthrop (b. 1949)

I. Incantation
II. Elegy
III. Passacaglia

Prelude and Fugue on B-A-C-H: Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

June 26, 2005

Prelude and Fugue in B Major, Opus 7, No. 1: Marcel Dupré (1886-1971)

Trio Sonata No. 6 in G Major, S. 530: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)


Prelude et Fugue sur le nom d' Alain (1942), Opus 7: Maurice Duruflé (1902-1986)

Herzlich tut mich erfreuen from Eleven Chorale Preludes, Opus 122, No. 4: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Scherzo from Symphonie VJ, Opus 59, No. 6: Louis Vierne (1870-1937)

Andante Sostenuto from Symphonie Gothique, Opus 70: Charles-Marie Widor (1844-1937)

Pagaent (1931): Leo Sowerby (1895-1968)