Joyce Jones: January 18, 2013


As the Joyce Oliver Bowden Professor of Music, retired, Joyce Jones has just completed a distinguished teaching career of 43 years at Baylor University. She has also become one of the most popular organ recitalists of our time. She made her professional debut with the Dallas Symphony as winner of the G.B. Dealey Award. She has presented concerts throughout the U.S. and on international tours of Canada, Mexico, Japan, and Europe and was featured on the inaugural concert telecast with four return engagements with the San Francisco Symphony. She holds the Fellow of the American Guild of Organists certificate, the highest level of Guild certifications. She is the author and editor of several published instructional methods and collections of organ music. Dr. Jones was awarded the Baylor University Award for Outstanding Creative Artist, and her recordings can be heard on the Motette, Rosenhaus, and Word record labels.

Dr. Jones earned the Bachelor of Music, summa cum laude, and Master of Music degrees at the University of Texas at Austin, a Master of Sacred Music at Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary, and the Doctor of Musical Arts degree at the University of Texas at Austin.


Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott, Op. 65, No. 47: Sigfrid Karg-Elert (1877-1933)

Cantabile (from Symphonic Fantasy on "St. Patrick's Breastplate"): Joseph Clokey (1890-1960)

Prelude and Fugue in D Major, BWV 532: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Voluntary in G Major: William Walond (1725-1770)

Prelude and Fugue on B.A.C.H. : Franz Liszt (1811-1886)

Fileuse (from Suite Bretonne): Marcel Dupré (1886-1971)

Fête: Jean Langlais (1907-1991)

Two Descriptive Pieces:

Capriccio on the Notes of the Cuckoo: Richard Purvis (1913-1994)

Improvisation on Aka Tombo (The Red Dragonfly): Joyce Jones

Pageant: Leo Sowerby (1895-1968)