Marek Kudlicki: November 7, 2010
and May 7, 2006


Marek Kudlicki is one of the few organists who earns his living almost exclusively from appearing in concerts. He tours the world constantly and has performed on every continent achieving great acclaim.

He was born in Tomaszow Lubelski, Poland. He studied organ (under Prof Joachim Grubich) and conducting (under Prof. Krzysztof Missona) at the Academy of Music in Cracow. He completed his diploma with distinction. It is noteworthy that he began his musical career while still a student, by giving concerts and recitals in many cities of Poland.

In the summer of 1973 he took part in the master course in Mechelen (Belgium) taught by Prof Flor Peeters, the noted interpreter of Cesar Franck's organ works. He continued his postgraduate studies with renowned organist, Prof Hans Haselbock at the Vienna Academy of Music.

Marek Kudlicki won the First Prize (and the Special Prize of the Polish Ministry of Culture and Art) in the Organ Competition in Poland in 1973.

For many years he has been actively engaged in artistic activities as is evidenced by the many concerts he has given in almost all of the European countries and many times in the U.S.A. and Canada, as well as in Australia,

New Zealand, South Africa, Colom­bia, Argentina, Mexico, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, and Taiwan.

In 1985, the 300th anniversary of the birth of J.S. Bach, Marek Kudlicki was invited to perform on the largest organ of Asia in the International Festival in Seoul, Korea.

Marek Kudlicki regularly promotes Polish organ music in his programs. He rou­tinely includes works of native composers in his recitals and in his recordings. He has given lectures at various universities on different continents.

His annual coast to coast North American tours are greeted with enthusiasm. On the 200th anniversary of the Polish Constitution, he gave a celebratory recital at San Francisco's Grace Cathedral.

In his extensive repertoire he also has numerous rarely played pieces for organ and orchestra. He has performed these works with various orchestra throughout the world.

In his many years in the profession he has often complemented his appearances as an organ soloist with his activities as a conductor.

Visit the Artist’s Website, CLICK HERE



PROGRAM: November 7, 2010

March of Prince of Denmark: Jeremiah Clarke (1510-1586)
arr.: Christiane Willand-Kessler

Dance Suite: Organ Tablature by Jan of Lublin (about 1540)

Toccata and Fugue in D Minor, BWV 565: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Chorale Preludes, Op. 122: Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Herzlich tut mich verlangen

O wie selig seid ihr doch, ihr Frommen

 Es ist ein Ros’ entsprungen

Adagio for Strings: Samuel Barber (1910-1981)   
(100th anniversary of the composer’s birth)

Fugue No. 6: Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
from “Six Fugues on B-A-C-H,” Op. 60
(200th anniversary of the composer’s birth)

Prelude in E Minor, Op. 28 No. 4: Frederick Chopin (1810-1849)

Prelude in B Minor, Op. 28 No. 6: Frederick Chopin
(200th anniversary of the composer’s birth)

Polish Fantasy  Op. 9: Feliks Nowowiejski (1877-1946)

Improvisations on the Polish Church Hymn “Holy God,” Op. 38: Mieczyslaw Surzyński (1866-1924)

PROGRAM: May 7, 2006

Warsaw Organ Tablature (17th century)

Preludium primi toni
Canzona primi toni (I)
Canzona primi toni (II)
Toccata tertio toni

Chorale Preludes: Johann Pachelbel (1653 -1706)

Ach Herr, mich armen Sünder

Allein Gott in der Höh' sei Ehr

Aria Sexta (Sebaldina): Johann Pachelbel
(300th anniversary of composer's death)

Toccata and Fugue in E Major, BWV 566: Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)

Chorale Preludes: Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897)

0 wie selig seid ihr doch, ihr Frommen

Es ist ein Ros' entsprungen

Mein Jesu, der du mich

Fugue No. 4: Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
(150th anniversary of composer's death)
from "Six Fugues on B-A-C-H," Op. 60

Polish Fantasy Op. 9: Feliks Nowowiejski (1877 - 1946)

First Sonata: Felix Borowski (1872-1956)
(50th anniversary of composer's death)

Allegro ma non troppo
Andante. Moderato maestoso. Tempo I
Allegro con fuoco